Skip to content

Waiting for Love

June 16, 2015

His distress was clear from the moment she announced the craft. 

“Which design would you like, Jimmy?”
“Polka dots!”

“And you, Carl?”

“Stripes, please!”

“What about you, Jason?”

The hand-covered face responded with silence. 

“Jason? Jason, sweetie, what design would you like for your Father’s Day card?”

His distress grew. “My daddy hates the gifts I give him. He always throws them away and tells me to stop and I want to but he gets really mad and I –”

The craft teacher touched his arm in understanding, enlightened by context I was not privy to until, “I understand, but this craft doesn’t mention God so it’ll be okay.”

Jason lowered his head, “I just want my daddy to love God.”

The kind teacher lowered her face to level his, “And we’ll just keep praying for him, okay?”

He half-smiled and reached for his scissors, “okay.”

I watched him carve the tie with his scissors, build with glue circles, and trace letters with diligence. He so wanted to impress his daddy. 

How is it possible for a scene to so warm my heart and cause it to ache at the same time?

This young child gave me a glimpse of Jesus’ heart.

Father, I just want Your children to love You

No comments yet

Leave a comment